History of Flowers · The Language of Flowers

A Little History

A Review Of The Language of Flower

Well my first post and I really don’t know where to start, I have all sorts of ideas but writing is an indulgence and a mean to study so I have set myself a time limit of one hour, especially for this first one to see how it goes.I love the fact you can link to other sites so you don’t have to really write marathons, just pertinent points and reminders. Much less boring for the readers and easier for me to fall back on. ( yes  you guessed it my first ever foray into blogging)

Paleobotanists, have found fossils of a tiny herb-like flower from over a 120 million years ago, amazing! None that I could find could say definitely when and where our diverse collection of flowers arrived but there is over 270,000  species of documented flowers in the world today. I found this lovely blog, Flowers of the Month Club and within it a page on the history of some of the well known flowers. Well worth a read.

Many of you might know flowers have meaning, roses for love etc but there are so many that it has been given a language, ‘floriography’. My reading into this has developed into a real interest for me; it is something we only touched on when I was training. There is so much that can be said with flowers. We have all seen it in poetry and writing, as gifts but flowers have been used for spying, to send secret and not so secret messages. Tussie-Mussies were small bunches of flowers wrapped in lace doilies that the Victorians used to secrete messages into to. The way you gave a flower could send a message, absolutely fascinating. Take a look at this Victorian Bazaar for more meanings. The Victorian era was certainly when flower power came into its own but there is also the religious and symbolic meanings to explore. Oh this is so exciting, but times up and I am away to get my son for his lunch.

One last thing a pretty rose shared just because it is so bright and cheerful.

 

Leave a Reply

